Metroid Fear won the Nintendo Game of the Year Award at the 2021 Golden Joystick Awards

The 2021 Golden Joystick Award was held last night. The coveted Nintendo Game of the Year Award is the first new work in the Nintendo 2D Metroid series in 20 years, Metroid Fear. The Golden Joystick Award is voted by gamers, so it is a good award for Metrophobia. You can read our own Metroid Dread review, which we gave a high score of 9.5/10 at the time of launch.

The complete list of nominations is:

  • Brave default 2
  • Metroid Fear (winner)
  • Monster Hunter Rise
  • Neo: The world ends because of you
  • New Pokemon Snapshot
  • WarioWare: Put it together